Aida Muluneh longlisted for the Scotiabank Photography Award

TORONTO, /CNW/ - The 11 longlisted artists vying for the 2019 Scotiabank Photography Award and its $50,000 prize were revealed today. 


The 2019 longlisted artists include:


Raymonde April, Montréal, Québec; 
Marion Penner Bancroft, Vancouver, British Columbia; 
Robert Bean, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia; 
Shannon Bool, Berlin, Germany; 
Geneviève Cadieux, Montréal, Québec; 
Marlene Creates, Portugal Cove, Newfoundland and Labrador; 
Susan Dobson, Guelph, Ontario; 
Aida Muluneh, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia; 
Althea Thauberger, North Vancouver, British Columbia; 
Larry Towell, Bothwell, Ontario; and, 
Stephen Waddell, Vancouver, British Columbia.


The Scotiabank Photography Award, now in its ninth year is the largest peer-nominated and peer-reviewed celebration of excellence in Canadian contemporary photography.


"We are proud to continue our support of Canada's exceptional artists through the Scotiabank Photography Award," says Barb Mason, Chief Human Resources Officer, Scotiabank. "By exposing us to new ideas and allowing us to see the world through a different lens, the arts provide us with inspiration to pursue our own passions. In its ninth year, the Scotiabank Photography Award continues the tradition of celebrating the achievements of established artists."  


A group of esteemed members of the Canadian arts community put forward their nominations that make up the 2019 longlist. The nominators include:


Dr. Ulrike Al-Khamis, Director/Collections and Public Programs, Aga Khan Museum, Toronto, Ontario; 
Sara Angel, Founder and Executive Director, Art Canada Institute; Adjunct Professor, York University, Faculty of Fine Arts, Toronto, Ontario; 
Sara Angelucci, Artist, Adjunct Professor, Photography, School of Image Arts, Ryerson University, Student Gallery Curatorial Coordinator, Ryerson Image Centre, Toronto, Ontario; 
Nicole Burisch, Assistant Curator, Contemporary Art, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa, Ontario; 
Peter Dykhuis, Director/Curator, Dalhousie Art Gallery, Halifax, Nova Scotia; 
Sophie Hackett, Curator, Photography, Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto, Ontario; 
Lesley Johnstone, Head of Exhibitions and Education, Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, Montréal, Québec; 
Karen Love, Director of Institutional Gifts, Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver, British Columbia; 
Melanie O'Brian, Director/Curator of Simon Fraser University Galleries, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia; 
Helga Pakasaar, Audain Chief Curator, The Polygon Gallery, North Vancouver, British Columbia; and, 
Eduardo Ralickas, Associate Professor, Department of Art History, Université du Québec à Montréal, Montréal, Québec.


"I wish to convey my sincerest thanks to the Award Nominators for their time and thoughtful consideration as we compile the longlist of Scotiabank Photography Award candidates," says Edward Burtynsky, Canadian photographer, artist, and Chair of the Scotiabank Photography Award jury. "The longlist is an essential component of our process and the consistent quality of the prize winners and runners up is only possible through their knowledge of the field and the artists working within it."


The jury of photography experts will select a shortlist of three finalists and the final winner of the Award. The 2019 jurors include: 


Edward Burtynsky, Jury Chair, Artist; 
Candice Hopkins,  Writer/Curator; 
Mark Lewis, Artist; and, 
Brian Sholis, Editor, Curator/Writer, former Executive Director of Gallery TPW, Toronto, Ontario.


The shortlisted artists will be announced  March 13, with the winner of the 2019 Scotiabank Photography Award being announced at a private gala at the Ryerson Image Centre in Toronto on May 7, 2019. The Award prizing includes:


A cash prize of $50,000 to the winner; a solo Primary Exhibition during the 2020 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, and a book of their work published and distributed worldwide by art book publisher, Steidl of Germany. 


The two finalists will each receive $10,000. 


The Scotiabank Photography Award was founded in 2010 with Edward Burtynsky to celebrate the creative vision and accomplishments of some of Canada's most talented photographers. It is Canada's largest and most prestigious annual peer-nominated and peer-reviewed award that recognizes the achievements of established, mid-to-late-career artists and the outstanding contributions that they have made to Canadian contemporary art and photography.